Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series

Average Customer Rating:
4.346 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
22 out of 26(85%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series
Review 1 for HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
chipper
Faulty so had to return
Date:27 June 2012
"Kept getting the blue screen of death every time I used it so had to restore factory settings approx 10 times, wasted approx 3 days of my life installing and uninstalling software due to a fault with the hardware. I now have to find an alternative product as the company I bought it from couldn't replace it."
Review 2 for HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pach
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Not Sure What to think
Date:07 June 2012
"Very disappointed. The product has already failed with just over a month after purchase - hard disk failure. I know failures can happen but with the light use that this laptop has received in comparison to my other laptops (one is pushing on 9 years and has been on ever since I have owned it). I became accustomed to computers and laptops not failing. I haven't really had a chance to test any of the g7's features; it spent most of its life restarting due to constant updates from windows and hp. All I am dreading now is having to go through another month of restarting every few minutes. HP service as well is a bit poor. Why should it cost me money to talk to you about your equipment failing on me prematurely? I still haven't received a reply from the online contact form I sent prior to calling. On top of that I have to fit the disk myself and hp can't even send me a screw driver. I hope I will actually enjoy this laptop once I get to use it, but I think it has already been demoted to my number 4."
Review 3 for HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
FP
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Too much manufacturing error
Date:21 February 2012
"I bought this laptop because i thought it was gonna be great. But, since the day i got it, i've been observing and repairing some kind of crazy things.
1- the CD player is smaller compare to where it's meant to fit. So, it keeps banging when im typing or just using the touch pad.
2- The fan makes more noise than i've ever heard on a pc.
3- The system keeps hanging whenever i use the pc without the charger pluged in to power. I used Driver Genius to sort it out, but it still does it sometimes.
The 4GB RAM and I-5 processor becomes almost useless once i open Adobe Photoshop with Illustrator at the same time.
Part from that, the rest is fine, though i would prefer with the same keyboard as the ProBook."
Review 4 for HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
checker
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
First HP purchase
Date:19 January 2012
"This is a good laptop but for some reason I cannot get a steady wireless signal in a certain room. It crashes at the most annoying times. My previous laptops (different makes) had no issues. My husbands laptop works perfectly. I've had "experts" in looking at my wireless system and there is no issue with the set up. I've bought a new router but the issue continues. A black cloud over what is potentially a good laptop"
Review 5 for HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OLD LAPTOP BOY
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
THANKS
Date:17 April 2012
"Hi to all PC users..
I have a Pavilion g7 and did not think it could beat
my last PC , but i was totally wrong as this is the best so far. I love the key board layout except the delete key which i would have put at the end of the right side like my old PC still all the Quality build and speck are spot on so well done HP. I have
only had it for a month and would say go for it and enjoy the fun of a first class product and number one in back up staff if you need advice
so thanks again HP.
"
Review 6 for HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
HP Pavilion g7
Date:10 April 2012
"a very good laptop - easy to use - very good keyboard - even for a 89 year old !! --- the only reason why there are 4 and not 5 stars is because the Touch pad seems - to me - to have a mind of its own as to whether it moves the text etc up or down-- the usual one touch/two touch presents no problem - I have attached a Logitec mini mouse so all is - practically - resolved. A very good piece of equipment from HP - Thank you"
Review 7 for HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Annie
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
This is a great machine
Date:27 March 2012
"I bought this computer as a replacment after a recent burglary and I have to say its a great machine, graphics are superb, performance very good"
Review 8 for HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
carrie
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Good Purchase
Date:02 March 2012
"Having researched alot of computers this product provided me with a good level of performance and the size of the screen is excellent. It ticked all my boxes. The only down side might be the that there are only 3 usb ports."
Review 9 for HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Marnes
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Fast but a few snags
Date:24 January 2012
"Overall I am pleased with my HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook. Its pretty fast and does what I want it to do. However I had a lot of problems with the wifi dropping out and eventually resolved it by downloading the latest driver for the network card. I had to research this via discussion forums which shouldn't be necessary on a new purchase. HP should pick up on this and ship the product with the correct version. The sound isn't that great either despite claims by others, so speakers are necessary for quality listening."
Review 10 for HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dmr
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Hewlett packard G7
Date:07 June 2012
"Excellent machine,has a nice feel,not too heavy,and is quick enough for all day to day requirements,from surfing the internet while playing multimedia music through to ordinary email,email with attachments,or playing games...all in all, total perfection"
Review 11 for HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Beginner
very good
Date:22 May 2012
"I HAVE HAD NO PROBLUMS WITH ANY OF THE 3 COMPUTERS THAT I HAVE THAT IS 2 DESKTOPS AND ONE LAPTOP BUT THE ALL IN ONE PRINTER IS TAKING SOME GETTING USED TO AS IT IS TOTALLY DIVERENT THAN MY OLD ONE"
Review 12 for HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heathside
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Laptop
Date:03 April 2012
"Purchased Pavilloin g7 series around Christmas time to replace previous Presario about 7 years old. New laptop far superior and good value as reduced in sale. Big screen a bonus and 6GB RAM capacity generous. Probably has more "bells & whistles" than I use but reassuring to know they are there if I ever take time to find them. Used mainly for surfing the Net, emails and word processing. A pleasure to use.
No complaints - so far.
"
Review 13 for HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lio52
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Excellent Purchase
Date:30 March 2012
"I recently bought an HP Pavillion G7 laptop and I have to say that I am impressed with the quality and value for money. It not only has looks, it also has funtionality as well. Excellent!"
Review 14 for HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BUNNY
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
BEST EVER PURCHASE
Date:14 March 2012
"AN ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT LAPTOP.QUICK TO RESPOND.EASY TO USE.THE BEST LAPTOP I HAVE USED. ADDED ADVANTAGE OF QUAD CORE."
Review 15 for HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
leo
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
HP Pavillion G7
Date:13 March 2012
"After reading many reviews on many laptops i decided to go for the G7 mainly because we have another HP laptop which we have had for about 6 years and apart from changing the battery we have had no issues at all .i have to say this G7 is even better than i`d` hoped for 17 inch screen is clear and bright the speakers are not muddy or flakey as with so many laptops out there the bass comes through nicely. using the HDMI port to connect to the tv is fantastic the picture quality is stunning the sound clear and bright.the mouse pad is big and has the added feature of expanding the page like the iphone screen does,windows 7 operating system is a dream compared to vista so much quicker.overall i dont do gaming but my son has had no problems on that score,the battery seems to hold its charge very well so i cannot fault this laptop and would definitely recommend to a friend."
Review 16 for HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oldie
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
A good fast machine
Date:13 March 2012
"This is a giood looking well constructed piece of equipment with an excellent full sized keyboard with plenty of features. It is much wider than my previous HP pavillion and therefore has a larger and wider screen. It was very easy to set up and I had no trouble with the wireless - being a 75 year old woman I was a bit apprehensive but was delighted to find I had managed to set it up and working within about 20 minutes. The battery capacity is adequate for my needs and lasts about 4 hours. My external hard drives worked well and I was able to get up pictures from discs I had made many years ago on my very first computer. It has a built in webcam, so it is all very neat and self-contained - useful if you have not got a lot of desk space. I think it would adequately replace a desk top computer. Could have done with a bit more software such as Microsoft Works, so had to purchase additional software. It has windows 7 but personally I preferred XP as you cannot use Outlook Express with Windows 7. I like the button that takes you straight to the internet. I think, overall, I made a very good choice."
Review 17 for HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Biscuit
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Good Purchase
Date:06 March 2012
"It covers everything what I need and good price. Only one small thing that keyboard with letters & numbers fonts are quite thin. Maybe need bit more bold."
Review 18 for HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sannyv
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
GREAT BUY
Date:02 March 2012
"Bought as a replacenent for my aging HP Presario Desk top to give flexibility and more room/less cabling in the room. Performance topping and v user friendly.for aged people (like me!) The only criticism I have so far is the sound quality which can be improved by external speakers,. but no complaints about the overall performance. A treat to work with."
Review 19 for HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rusty Jaffa Cakes
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Awesome computer
Date:28 February 2012
"I have bought a new pavilion g7 for my birthday and it has been awesome since. I would recommend this product to everyone. It does,t freeze or turn off when you don't want it to. Awesome computer"
Review 20 for HP Pavilion g7-1200 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dave
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
HP Pavilion G7
Date:21 February 2012
"Excellent laptop and great value! I've had it for about 6 weeks and everything's been perfect. Had no problems at all and it's so fast. The best thing about it is the big 17.3" screen. The screen and keyboard are great, but when I'm doing a lot of typing I use an external keyboard as it suits my big fingers better."