Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series

Print, scan and copy everyday documents with this reliable HP all-in-one. Compact and affordable, this stylish device is simple to set up and use and is designed to help you reduce your environmental impact too.
Average Customer Rating:
4.399 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(571 Reviews) 571
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (571 reviews)
5 stars
347
4 stars
159
3 stars
34
2 stars
8
1 star
23
522 out of 571(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series
Review 21 for HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nohappy
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Not so good
Date:20 January 2012
"Bought this printer and took it back to the shop after a week as it stopped working.As with all these things there is too much nonsense on the software disk and nothing to help you with it when it goes wrong.
The print quality was a bit fuzzy at the edges and my PC wouldnt recognise the scanner.
"
Review 22 for HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mal
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Absolute rubbish
Date:19 January 2012
"I bought this printer - put in new cartidges etc. Then tried to print a book of photo's. The first 20 pages were quite good then it was like the ink was running out, the blue sky turned purple and their were vertical lines all over the page. the pack says 160 pages??? actually it diddn't make 30......?"
Review 23 for HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DISAPPOINTED
Gender:Male
Age:55+
UNHAPPY
Date:19 January 2012
"I have had Hewlett Packard before and have been very happy with the product but this model is the worst printer i have ever purchased.When you copy a photograph the colours are all wrong and do not match the photo being copied using more ink to make more copies.(MORE COST). Also i can not print a photo passport size.I have never had problems like this with any other make or model. I shall be looking for a different make as soon as the ink runs out which at the rate of tring to get a fair to good copy of any photographs won't be long."
Review 24 for HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
HopeSprings
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Not for daily use
Date:27 February 2013
"Overall the printer is good for a cheap all-in-one, my one and only criticism is that the cartridges are so small printing daily is not possible unless buy loads and loads of cartridges. The black does not last for the 150 pages it says it does, rarely making 100 before it refuses to print anymore, which wouldn't be too bad if I was using a lot of black on each page and I hadn't set it to economy print. If had it on normal print I would be lucky to get 60 pages, do not buy if need to print anything bigger than a few pieces of homework a month. However it is quiet, makes decent photocopies and is a lovely size for an all-in-one."
Review 25 for HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jacko
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Ink cartridge type 301 & 122
Date:25 December 2012
"I bought the 1050 printer based on the sales girl's and the package information that it can use both the 301 & 122 cartridges
Alas! it can only use 301 & not the cheaper 122
"
Review 26 for HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
HP
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
HP
Date:09 October 2012
"Reasonably cheap for what it is, but you wont take over the world with this one!!!"
Review 27 for HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
FRED
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
email&scan
Date:08 August 2012
"i have found that i can scan paper and documents but until now i have not been able to send them by mail/ it has been suggested that my computer is not compatable which i find very annoying would i buy the product again given a choice? that is a definite NO NO MY COMPUTERISAN ACERX1920"
Review 28 for HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
kataza
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
HP Printer model 1050A
Date:06 August 2012
"I have a new HP 1050A printer and it works very nicely, but thyere is a lack of info about SCANNING and PRINTING AN ENVELOPE. Any adice and assistance would be apreciated. Until I have these details I cannot honestly recommend this Hp printer to any of my contacts. Other than these facts, I regard this printer as the best I have ver used."
Review 29 for HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Goofy
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Cheap and not that good
Date:17 April 2012
"First the good points: very easy to install, auto power saving, low purchase price.
Not so good: slow scanning, but acceptable for occasional scans (which is fine for me).
VERY sensitive to paper. Any creases, varying thickness etc, then the paper will not load. Planning to buy a new pack of priniting paper and see if that is any better. I don't print that much, so am living with it at the moment, but if I was printing every day, then this device would have been returned by now!
Summary: This all-in-one was cheap to buy, but unfortunately it shows. Not recommended.
"
Review 30 for HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bisto
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Not suitable for multi photocopying
Date:14 February 2012
"This review request came just as I had reverted to my original printer (which is very efficient but very expensive on cartridges).
However, when photocopying a newsletter last week (64 pages) I used nearly two black cartridges. I had noticed that ordinary printing also churns out so much ink that it gets used up very quickly.
I realise that this is a cheaper product, but was also disappointed that my camera could not be utilised via a Pictbridge. However, I was probably expecting too much!
"
Review 31 for HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Silver Fox
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Incomplete Product
Date:07 February 2012
"Printer itself was fine, good value for money!
But instructions for setup were so vague, that NO mention was made that you had to go out and BUY a USB cable to connect it to yr computer. These days you expect your purchase to include EVERYTHING you need to get it working!
A definite failing of HP!
"
Review 32 for HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reptonite
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
You get what you pay for
Date:05 March 2013
"Usual standard printer, no outstanding features. It is very noisy when it comes on and whilst printing.
Scanned images so far have been quite clear.
It's good enough for the small amount of printing/scanning I need but think the noise would irritate if you used it a lot!"
Review 33 for HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OAP
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Beginner
buyer beware
Date:26 February 2013
"My new printer is working fine but I am a little cautious as my previous HP printer only lasted two years before breaking down! As an elderly ocassional user thought this was poor value. I may have taken a silly risk in buying another."
Review 34 for HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
a
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
printer
Date:15 January 2013
"Yes, I think better instructions would help to use printer."
Review 35 for HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Speedy
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Could be better
Date:02 January 2013
"As much as I like the performance of the machine I'm disappointed that it keeps sticking (for want of a better word) every so often it states I'm out of paper when clearly I'm not. Other than that it fast and prints very clearly"
Review 36 for HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shalou
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Nice and efficient Printer
Date:18 December 2012
"I like this printer, its efficient and rapid. When there's an error you can rapidly solve it. But however i don't like this idea of printing a test paper or doing an alignment just after installing a cartridge. The person should have a choice if he wants to do this alignment or not.
But in overall its a rather satisfying printer.
Thanks
"
Review 37 for HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jimmy
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Disappointing purchase
Date:05 December 2012
"I am pleased with the printing of documents, the text nice and clear, and it prints quickly. However as I print a lot of family photos I am disappointed that it does not have a borderless choice. Also the border all around is not even. But it is good value for the money."
Review 38 for HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
paper discharge printing
Date:04 December 2012
"on discharging the paper after printing instead of pushing the paper out gently i throws it out across the room. (at this time only comment to make otherwise am happy with the product)"
Review 39 for HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Minnie
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
replacement for another printer
Date:20 November 2012
"It's all right but is noisy and takes a long time to get to the printing stage. I think the instructions could be clearer, but then I am an 84 year old silver surfer!"
Review 40 for HP Deskjet 1050A All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ziad
Good value for money
Date:13 November 2012
"Quite a basic printer which does the basics quite well! Good value for money."