Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series

Make the most of your laptop – print from the living room, the kitchen or virtually any other room in the house with this affordable and stylish wireless all-in-one[1]. Enjoy the convenience of easy scanning and intuitive colour copying too.
Average Customer Rating:
3.034 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
11
14 out of 29(48%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series
Review 1 for HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pcunique
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Not happy
Date:28 December 2010
"I have used many HP printers & loved them.
Out of the box this seemed everything a decent printer should be .(except both the cartridges were dry & I had to buy new ones!) But now, 3 months on, I am getting rid of it..(I only regret getting rid of my old HP!!!)
I only have a medium use demand & after a few prints each "1st print " has been unusable & requires head cleans( black ink), I changed a few original cartridges, manly due to a silly amount of head cleaning, but always the same....a few prints then back to bad prints
Quality and speed when it DOES print is actually very good but the time wasted getting there to me just is not worth the effort. I will however definately stay with the HP brand.but not this model .
"
Review 2 for HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SBTSTONE
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Major problems
Date:20 December 2010
"I purchased the first one of these last May. It was easy to install and worked fine, until it quit printing altogether. Jobs are sent to the print queue, the printer pulls in the paper, displays "printing" on the printer but nothing ever prints! If you display the print queue it says the document is "printing" but nothing ever prints. The test page prints correctly, but nothing else. I called support, and after trying things (including taking remote access of my computer) for over an hour, they said they would just send me another printer. I received it last week, spent hours on the phone again - this printer is doing the same thing! Actually hooked it up to 3 different laptops/USB cables to be sure I didn't have a bad port or cable, still nothing."
Review 3 for HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kevin
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Avoid the HP F4500!
Date:05 December 2010
"I've never had a more frustrating experience with a personal printer than I have had with the HP F4500. It limps through basic functions, and constantly freezes up when I send print jobs and when I restart it it wastes paper by printing the same "test page" over and over. The installation is enormous and loads two non-optional (as far as I could see) and rather useless photo editing programs.
I do not recommend this product and I will remember this experience next time I consider buying an HP. It's 2010 - this in unacceptable."
Review 4 for HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
confused for now
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
changing a router can cause problems
Date:04 December 2010
"I have owned my HP 4500 wireless printer for over a year, its been great and hassel free. Until now that is and its not the fault of the printer, but it does cause confusion with my particular problem. I have had my broadband router break down so I have replaced it with a new one, this was an easy enough task and as I run a desktop and a laptop In my home office I did have to enter a new wep key for the lap top. My problem now is that the HP printer will not recognise the new wireless router, which I can understand but I can't find any options to simply add the new wep key to the printer setting. I am not to keen to go for a full reinstall as this may upset some of my other setting. I wonder has anyone else come across this problem."
Review 5 for HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
<3 iT!!!
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
probably the best printer i have ever owned
Date:29 November 2010
"I LoVE LOVE LOVE this printer..my computer was having some issues so i couldnt use the disk to download so i went on the HP website and downloaded the and installed the driver in less than 3 minutes...im able to print from anywhere in my apt and it prints perfectly ....and i got it at a great price on black friday thank you HP :)"
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
steveo7654
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Worst Purchase Ever
Date:20 November 2010
"Prints documents clearly, anything from the internet prints double.
Software unable to configure itself, so features paid for like scanning are unavailable.
HP software that enables networking is not responding ... means no wireless function.
The power cord works.
After owning many great HP products, this is a worst nightmare.
"
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jay
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Quick and Simple...Not
Date:10 October 2010
"If you're looking for a quikc and easy printer to use, this is not it. I've come so close to throwing it out of the Windows more times than I care to count.
The driver installation takes longer than it does to install the whole Windows XP operating system, and its connectivity is flaky in the extreme, if you leave it more than 30 mins. If you want to print basically switch off and switch on again, wait for it to finishing faffing around, then print if you're lucky.
Piece of junk."
Review 8 for HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
J
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Don't bother..
Date:08 September 2010
"Easy enough to setup, wireless worked fine. It began printing alright, although quite slow, but now it takes about 20 minutes for it to print anything, and often quits halfway through the job, even when hooked up through the USB cord.
Returning it and not looking back.
"
Review 9 for HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tess
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Big Mistake
Date:17 August 2010
"I purchased a HP Deskjet F4580 in the early part of this year. It didn't perform even the basic functions correctly e.g. printing.
In all fairness the technical support people responded well and after tying a number of things recalled the machine and supplied me with another one.
This second machine, though erratic, allowed me to limp along, but, I'm now in the position of having to contact the technical support people once more.
The problems seem to be many, but, the main one seems to be that it doesn't print on request and in all likelihood when it does print ( maybe 24 hours later) it prints a photoprint that has been printed many days earlier before that.
Ironically a friend who recommended the printer in the first place is also having trouble and is on contact with HP with similar problems.
Perhaps you could ask Technical Support to contact me concerning this matter with a view to resolving it or supplying me with a more reliable model?
"
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bluebell
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
HP Deskjet F4580
Date:16 August 2010
"Had trouble setting up because it was not automatically compatable with windows 7 but the help line was fantastic and once up and running have had no trouble, use it with laptop and desktop as printer is wireless"
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Biggles
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Beware!
Date:16 August 2010
"Very good printing/scanning results but very difficult to set up a wireless connection. Finally achieved it with help from HP but since changing BT router cannot make wireless connection despite uninstalls and reinstalls etc.. Unfortunately there is no provision for an ethernet connection to the router, only a USB cable connection to the laptop will work, which rather defeats the object of the wireless facility."
Review 12 for HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
monty
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
good buy
Date:15 August 2010
"Easy to set up wifi and start using within mins. Prints are clean and clear. It prints quickly and not too noisy. I have printed on paper, card and transparency and the quality is always the same. It is easy to change the ink cartridges but up to now i cannot comment on the how long the ink lasts as i do not print every day."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rupertrusty
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
DISAPPOINTED WITH WIRELESS
Date:14 August 2010
"It doesn't seem to want to work with Wireless printing, so having to use USB"
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coldave
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Great item
Date:13 August 2010
"Does what it says on the box
Prints letters well and great at colour photos
Wireless is great
"
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
erro
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Lousy
Date:13 August 2010
"When I bought a new computer with windows 7 it would not recognise my HP PSC 1410. So I bought a new one - HP Deskjet F4580
I had to return this because of a fault - can't remember what. The product was exchanged with no problem though I would have preferred my money back. The replacement is
1) Noisy
2) Kicks out envelopes at the back - won't let them go round the designed circuit and print..
3) Won't print heavy paper (160g/m2) for the same reason.
4) the copy/scan plate works in the opposite direction from my previous HP PSC 1410, i.e. the top of the page must be put on the right instead of the left. This change means that if printing on 2 sides I frequently get the second page upside down.
5) I really would have liked my money back instead of a replacement when I complained originally. You wouldn't let me do this!
6) Iam unlikely ever to buy another HP product
"
Review 16 for HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ollaid
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
bad wireless device
Date:13 August 2010
"the printer and scanner work perfect buuutt, there is a big but and a bug in the wireless technology of that HP Deskjet All-in-One F4500!"
Review 17 for HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dr Teeth
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Hopeless for envelopes
Date:13 August 2010
"The HP deskjet F4580 has been a major dissappointment. I have had to send four back as they chew up rather trhan print envelopes. Thia was not my experience with previous printers. It also seems to use up the ink quite quickly.
A machine to be avoided"
Review 18 for HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
HonSec
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Disappointed
Date:12 August 2010
"The F 4580. Neat, compact and easy to set up onto my two computers, wired to my desktop, wireless to my laptop. Print quality very good. – But!
Being secretary to a local organisation, every two months I have to print about 100 DL envelopes and 200 A4 sheets of text. Compared to my previous HP printer, (psc 1310 series,) the 4580 takes a lot longer to think about printing an envelope and overall time is double than before, which is frustrating when there is 100 to print.
If using a standard black ink cartridge it runs out of ink after about 100 A4 pages even in ‘Fast Draft’ mode, (the quality of which is adequate for this particular purpose.)
This is the fourth HP printer I have owned and am not as satisfied with this one as I was with the other three.
For these two reasons I can give it only 2 stars.
"
Review 19 for HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amitabh
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Value for money
Date:13 June 2010
"I have bought this printer over 3months. Great to use and great image clarity. Easy installation and great feature. Great value for money. Easy use toooooooooo."
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
frustrated
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
I'm techie but this didn't set up wirelessly
Date:02 May 2010
"The wireless 'one button' is useless if your wifi router has no button. my wifi network connection programme can pick this up and shows it to connect to, but if it connects it cannot print and then disconnects from my regular internet connection. hardly useful to print from the internet which becomes impossible. the instructions seem to assume only one set up and alllows nothing else. not so useful. I bought a wireless printer especially and am singularly disappointed that it seems impossible to use in this way."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team25 May 2010

Dear Customer,

We understand you have encountered some technical issues with HP Deskjet F4500 All-in-One Printer series.

In order to receive our full support on this matter, kindly note that there are three different ways to interact with us.

You can choose to chat with an Hp support expert, submit a support case via e-mail or call technical support by accessing the following link:

http://welcome.hp.com/country/us/en/wwcontact_us.html

Our technical experts will do their best to assist you regarding the issue encountered.