Product Reviews

HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series

Create high impact colour documents and save as much as 50% per page compared with competitive laser printers[1] with this business all-in-one. Share high-speed printing between up to 10 users, plus built-in fax, scan and copy functions.
Average Customer Rating:
3.428 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(444 Reviews) 425
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (444 reviews)
5 stars
161
4 stars
89
3 stars
54
2 stars
59
1 star
81
260 out of 444(59%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series
Review 21 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CT15
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Unreliable ADF
Date:19 January 2012
"The automatic document feeder is very unreliable. It frequently grabs more than one sheet and it sometimes refuses to grab a sheet at all. This means you have to watch it carefully and you cannot attend to other tasks until the feed is complete. I use 80 gsm paper and I do not overload the feeder."
Review 22 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jesse
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
This machine is awful.
Date:12 August 2011
"This machine is awful. I'm writing this review because I have the time to, because I am waiting for the printer to reboot. These days it seems I'm wasting a lot of my work time waiting on this machine... checking itself... cleaning printheads... even when it works seamlessly it takes a solid 60 seconds from the time I hit print to the time it starts making noise.
The software that comes with it is atrocious - sometimes I can scan wirelessly, sometimes I get a communication error despite having no network problems, a ping response from the printer, and the ability to print. Troubleshooting this printer is manageable but extremely time consuming, save your money."
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shimp99
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Poorest HP performance
Date:17 November 2010
"I have had this printer replaced and it still has paper pick up issues. I am extremely dissappointed in this printer. This device makes me question my decision to purchase and HP product despite being a repeat customer. DO NOT BUY THIS PRINTER."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mare
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Disappointing Purchase
Date:17 November 2010
"I've read most of the reviews listed here and I wanted to echo the whole paper feed issue. 3 or 4 pages will print just fine and then the 5th page will come out chewed up. I haven't had any "out of paper" messages, but I got the printer yesterday and was up till 3AM trying to print a paltry 25 pages. So frustrating.
However, this morning I played around some more and I went into the paper setting and instead of "plain paper," I chose "thick plain paper," and I have now printed over 100 pages without a single glitch. I'd rather not have to create a work-around, but at least it's working. Has anyone else tried this?"
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
UK Micro Business
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Hardware good shame about the software
Date:09 July 2010
"I've had this for about six months now.
Whilst there is much to get annoyed about (hence why low rating), which has been well covered elsewhere, one thing that I've noticed is that the spurious 'out of paper' error largely went away after feeding 3~5 reams of paper through the machine (I've now fed 14~15 reams through it). So the initial irritation this error caused has largely gone away, now when I get this error either the printer really has run out of paper or is down to the last couple of sheets.
So whilst I'm now reasonably happy with the hardware, I'm still waiting for HP to deliver the software that would enable the non-IT people in my business to fully exploit this device.
Another problem, I've encountered is that this device (fax driver?) prevents a USB connected PC from going into hiberation (a useful power saving mode to save desktop overnight or whilst away at a meeting). With the 8500 on a standard mains outlet I hope that it doesn't interfere with the correct operation of the UPS."
Review 26 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
salesguy
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Paper Feed Issues
Date:19 December 2009
"As with other reviews, the printer works well (despite a rather lengthy install process) with the notable exception of paper feed problems. I tried various types of paper, from multi-purpose to standard printer paper, high end ink-jet etc., same results. This started immediately after purchase. The recommended cleaning process does not rectify the problem so I am stuck with a high maintenance printer. HP - you need to get this resolved."
25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Badger
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
HP Officejet Pro 8500 900
Date:19 January 2012
"Very handy printer for general use, however, it's 12 1/2 months old and its broken and I can't find any where to get it fixed.
If it hadn't broken I'd be recommending this printer to everyone.
Sad face"
Review 28 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kleos
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Another HP problem product
Date:07 December 2011
"This printer, although a good printer, is an ink waster. Now I know all inkjet printers use a lot of ink, but this one is very bad. Today we had a message "yellow ink needs to be replaced", "cyan and magenta 'soon'." We replaced the yellow. After more than five minutes of cleaning printheads, the next message was "cyan needs to be replaced". We changed that one. Needless to say, you can see where this is going. Five minutes of 'cleaning printheads' later, it said "magenta needs to be replaced". Finally it is ready to print, but a third of the yellow is gone, part of the cyan is gone, and the magenta is the only one that is just a bit depleted due to printhead cleaning. After sending one fax, it printed out the fax sent sheet, and it said "cleaning printheads". Honestly, I don't know where the colour ink is going, because we print 95% black. I think it just gets depleted by the cleaning of the printheads. This is an expensive flaw in the printer."
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mike
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Initially good.
Date:13 November 2010
""I absolutely love this all in one unit I thought that it was a HP winner until it stoped working after 13 months and i have been told to scrap it and get another one!!
I have always had HP printers but its making me think what to do next. I run a small consultancy business and of course it packed up in the middle of a report that nad to go out."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
too much memory
Date:14 August 2010
"The software takes up more memory than all the othe programs put together and slows the computer to intolareable levels"
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kate
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Good multi functional printer
Date:03 February 2012
"The best thing about this printer is the many uses ie printing (of course), wirelessly (even better). The ability to scan has become a must have. Oh, and it can copy too! There have been a couple of times when the print head failed. The first time was within a month of purchase and the second time still within warranty. Both resulted in having to get a replacement printer which was arranged after a battle first time and very helpfully second time. So it only gets 4 stars as reliability hasn't been great."
Review 32 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BigT99
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Mixed Review
Date:19 January 2012
"Admittedly, this printer does mostly what I would expect a fairly expensive MFP to do. Its main drawback for me is that, rather like a cat, it seems to spend more time cleaning itself than doing any productive work. Of course, this is especially noticeable when I urgently need the print job. When it does arrive, the job is excellent, but, joking aside, with its time out for self-cleaning I do not think that this printer is as speedy as the specs suggest
BigT"
Review 33 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jimgcan
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Would buy this one again
Date:03 October 2011
"Bought this printer several months ago, in preparation for a big (to us) print job we were planning in our home office. We have printed over 5500 pages, mostly color and two-sided.
We have had no paper jams or mis-feeds. The print quality is excellent, and the cost-per-page is very good.
The only negative is sourcing a second paper tray. Looks like HP Canada does not stock it, although it can be ordered on the US site."
Review 34 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bryan
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Very good value purchase
Date:25 August 2010
"Very good value for money.
Not managed to get Fax connected so far.
"
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Working Mum
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Right Decision?
Date:12 July 2010
"I had a HP Laser Printer but it was costing a fortune to buy the toners. I saw this one and thought it would be a good substitute.
It definitely works, the print quality is excellent and the duplex feature is really useful. So far ink usage has been a bit higher than I thought but okay.
Biggest problem is envelopes. It would be great if it had an envelope feed instead of having to take the paper out and use the main feed.
Also, when it goes into sleep mode it sometimes means your computer goes on a go slow when you ask it to print. Once the printer has the message then it prints fine but communication between computer and printer can be a bit labourous.
Overall value for money is good."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
david953a
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
paper pickup problem
Date:02 December 2009
"This printer is a terrific printer except one problem. There is a problem with the paper pickup in the tray. Like other customers are reporting, it often says paper jam, no paper in tray. You have to reshuffle the paper in the tray to get it to pick it up. It looks like the rollers are slipping on the paper, as you can se black rub marks on the paper when the rollers spin on it unsuccessfully trying to pick up the paper.
I have installed about 30 of these printers this year at customers, and they all have the same issue. Possibly there is sensitivity to certain types of paper. I noticed the shinier higher quality paper has more issues. I also noticed that if you only put a little amount of paper in (about 1/4" high) then it is less problematic.
Also, there is no paper guide towards the front of the tray so paper can easily slip forward and out of position in the tray
Definitely a problem HP should look into.
On the bright side, networking is easy to setup and also the printer prints fast and is efficient on ink.
But please HP, fix the paper pickup issue!"
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy User
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
GREAT PRODUCT AND AFTER SERVICE
Date:17 April 2012
"This printer is brilliant. it is reliable and effective and quick. I have used it successfully for nearly two years and it has been brilliant. I did have a hiccup when it started to chew paper. I rang HP and with my warranty they gave me a replacement next day. Definitely the best service and best product I have used for a long time."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Steve
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
HP Officejet Pro 8500 Wireless All-in-One Printer
Date:08 March 2012
"What a super "All in One" machine. Networks easily, does a hard days work from two PC's and a laptop, with super results every time.
Lots of useful features, some I never thought I would ever need, but I have used a few and will continue to learn how to get the best out of it, on a daily basis.
Go on, buy one; I know I will buy it again when the time is right for another machine.
"
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big Yin
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
great Wireless AIO Printer
Date:29 January 2012
"I had my previous AIO wired printer replaced with a Wireless HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer. It is amazing and would gladly recommend to any small office or for comprehensive home use. I did'.t realise that apps are also available on printers and ePrint is quite an impressive and unexpected bonus"
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for HP Officejet Pro 8500 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Al
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Fast Servive
Date:19 January 2012
"Ordered at 5pm delivered next day at 11 am ! Exellent service!"