Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC series

Affordable notebook with a neat design and powerful performance. Mobile computing brings more flexibility and convenience to use this PC on the move, whenever and wherever.
Average Customer Rating:
3.823 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
14 out of 17(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC series
Review 1 for Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MadWriter
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Just wait...
Date:22 August 2009
"Got the F700 for Christmas in 2007. Nice computer for games, etc. at the time. About a year ago the CD/DVD started to get selective about which CDs and DVDs to play; what ran in my desktop sometimes wouldn't run on the laptop. Then it would get really hot so I bought a fan system for it. That worked out well in keeping it running cool. Then the power cord went out which is nothing new for Compaq. This past week the wireless connection died for four days, then started working again. Now today when I ran Disk Defrag the thing died totally. Plugged in or not, I turn on the start button only to see the blue lights come on for a few second, flicker off, then come back on, then go out. The monitor never comes on at this point. I'm told the hard drive is dead since the changing of the RAM sticks didn't work. Never again will I go with Compaq. Those of you who "love it," just wait... It'll happen to you soon."
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team27 August 2009
Dear Customer,

We understand you have encountered some technical issues with the Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC series.

In order to receive our full support on this matter, kindly note that there are three different ways to interact with us. You can choose to chat with an Hp support expert, submit a support case via e-mail or call technical support by accessing the following link:

http://welcome.hp.com/gms/uk/en/contact_us.html

Our technical experts will do their best to assist you regarding the issue encountered.

Many thanks.
Review 2 for Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Azagthoth
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Fails again and again
Date:26 May 2009
"I have had my F700 for almost two years now. The wireless is fading fast (check around, it is a known issue), and now the hard drive has crashed and burned. When I purchased a Compaq I thought I was getting a quality product. I was wrong. This is cheaply made, poorly assembled and not nearly powerful enough to run the programs that were preinstalled, like the OS.
I will not buy Compaq again."
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team09 June 2009
Dear Customer,

We understand you have encountered some technical issues with the Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC series.

In order to receive our full support on this matter, kindly note that there are three different ways to interact with us. You can choose to chat with an Hp support expert, submit a support case via e-mail or call technical support by accessing the following link:

http://welcome.hp.com/gms/uk/en/contact_us.html

Our technical experts will do their best to assist you regarding the issue encountered.

Many thanks.
Review 3 for Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FedoraUser
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Great for a linux laptop.
Date:16 August 2008
"I had a Sager NP4020 in which the processor went dead. I purchased this laptop due to the price and what it had to offer. I immediately dumped Windows Vista and installed Fedora 9 (F9). With the installation of the drivers provided by nVidia, the laptop pretty much worked right out of the box. Internal wireless internet works, the video card works (only goes to a maximum of 1280x800 though :( ). The sound works great with pulse audio. My only complain is once again the maximum screen resolution, but if you are wanting a solid laptop to run Fedora or Ubuntu on, I would recommend this machine."
6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mariusz
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Its good for now
Date:31 July 2008
"I'm really happy with this laptop! It has high end parameters for a good price! The previous reviewer have bad luck and has a damaged hard drive. I think its possible to fix with guarantee."
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
whatever
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Hard Disk Crashed Almost Immediately
Date:26 July 2008
"When I was trying to configure Internet access, I pressed the power down button when I meant to press the off button. What happened next was a black screen that the computer was unable to recover from, no matter what I did. So I pulled out the battery and cut the power. Next thing I know, the computer keeps dillydallying, showing blank screens, and showing brief BSODs. When I managed to get to F10 to run a diagnostic check, it said REPLACE HARD DISK. Do NOT buy this piece of nonsense, it's cheap for a reason."
13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JayB
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Best Computer...Best Deal!
Date:28 June 2008
"If you're looking for something that's all HIGH-POWERED(for gamers) then this is not the computer for you.
But if you're just into surfing the web, watching DVDs & using MS Office then this is the computer for you!
I know some people are gonna complain about Vista if you're upgrading from XP. But they can easily replace Vista with XP on this computer.
But anyway this computer is FAST, Slim, and very light! I love the DVD RW feature and the screen is truly wide!
The thing bad about the F750 is the Ram...could have included at least 2GB..but anyone could fix that with $30 and the keyboard wears out too early(especially the Space Bar)...but what do you expect when you're in this laptop at least 6 hours a day everyday. This laptop is too amazing...I brought mine for $620 3 months ago(probably cheaper now), and I never regret buying it!"
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
No Problems
Date:21 June 2008
"I've had this laptop for about 8 months, and I have had no problems with it. Though it has only 1 GB of RAM, it runs as fast as or faster than my desktop, which has 3 GB of RAM. I have many programs installed and they all work fine; many running simultaneously without a hitch. The only con would be the lack of an SD card reader. Overall, great value for the money."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mike
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Bang for the Buck
Date:06 June 2008
"I recieved one of these laptops as a graduation present. It was very cost effective, and performed very well for the price. It is great as just something to carry around to have a mobile computing platform, but I would not recommend it for a desktop replacement.
The battery life is respectable, and I guess that it really deserves the energy star certification since I typicall squeeze about two hours of life out of the stock battery. Another battery is worth the investment, and a battery with a few more cells is excellent for those long trips or plane flights where you will want to use your laptop for extended periods of time.
The graphics (nVidia 7000M) handles Windows Aero well. It does not handle high-end gaming, but it works great with video playback and performs well where expected to.
This laptop has always stayed relatively cool, which I have had many issues with laptops that generate lots of heat.
All around, the laptop works great, is a good deal, and is a pretty good deal. I am happy with this laptop."
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Milan
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Absolutely Amazing
Date:25 May 2008
"I got this laptop as a present from my girlfriend. She and i have the same laptop and the looks are stunning and so is the perfomance. If you are reading this this is a great buy and do not get something else over it."
4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
vince
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Beginner
solid
Date:05 March 2008
"see i got this computer for christmas and when i saw it was a compaq i was pumped. It is very easy to type on and WiFi is great i can bring it to my room. I'm a sophmore in highschool and i think i might even beable to go through college with it, its that great. Good deal also"
5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vic
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Perfect laptop
Date:17 February 2008
"This is the second laptop that i have from Compaq, I think that hey have perfect machines with longlasting quality. I still have my old Presario 2140 by the way. Definetly stronlgy recommended machine, it works very well and you will be happy with it !!!"
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
J.D. _ Multi Media and Gaming Spec.
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Great
Date:02 January 2008
"I def. like this laptop. It is great for gen. gaming and video work"
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dustin
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Awesome Machine
Date:29 December 2007
"This is my second notebook to own from Compaq. They are great! The first was a M2000. This was definitely a step up. AMD dual core is an awesome addition in the price range. This machine, in my opinion, is the best value for the money. The widescreen is very nice. I also like the keyboard, very easy to type on. The wireless is flawless. I have not had one problem with it thus far. Only thing I wish it had is the Media card ports, no biggy though. A++ computer in my book. Compaq is awesome."
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fido
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
good stuff
Date:09 December 2007
"Its new but it does everything that I want to do very well indeed. Its a winner"
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
niquija
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Very Good Buy
Date:08 November 2007
"This was my first notebook, so i can't say much in terms of comparing it with others.
But, the presario has served me well so far.
The image quality is awesome, no lag or delays, very quick with processing but its a tad bit heavy (then again i'm a weakling). The speakers are awsome for such a tiny little thing. And the price was very affordable. I got it for 460 something at circuit city. Very good buy.
"
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fawn
F732NR
Date:14 October 2007
"very good computer, but won't work with my all in one printer"
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Compaq Presario F700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
frankieryd
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Excellent value
Date:13 October 2007
"I have purchased many notebooks and PCs over the years and look for a balance of features for a good price. The F700 was on sale at Staples for $449-. It's my learning tool for Vista Premium as all prior machines used XP or XP Pro. I've given time to learning the OS and setting up features...patiently. I cannot be happier with the the perfomance thus far of both the F730US or Vista. My good experience with both HP and Compaq units of the past led me to this purchase. It is a "great bang for the buck.""
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.