Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series

The Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC is an affordable notebook with a stylishly slim design and powerful performance. Perfect for use at home or on the go, stay connected wherever you are!
Average Customer Rating:
3.806 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
5
30 out of 36(83%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series
Review 1 for Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fallen
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Overall Computer Satisfaction
Date:09 October 2009
"I've had this computer for about a year now and overall, it's been a great little gadget. I play a few online games and surf as well and for all needs, it's given me everything I want.
The overheating isn't an issue with a fan which I would have used anyway. The size is perfect for viewing and the keyboard has a nice comfortable feel to it.
So for my useage, this notebook met all my needs and more. And the price couldn't be beat. I hope to keep enjoying all that I do here for years to come."
Review 2 for Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RTB
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Love it Hate it
Date:05 October 2009
"I bought our C700 for my wife as a prezzy, been great for about a year, then we tried to play dvd, no joy, so tried a cd, still no joy, we had'nt needed to before. We waited for someone to fix it for us, but all we get is a message on the screen saying there is no disc. So we cant comment on the speakers as we have never heard them.
Now when we try to go on the iternet we get an error message unless we connect to the router direct, a bit pointless, as we bought it so we could both surf from different rooms.
"
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dick
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
very slow
Date:04 October 2009
"This laptop is extremely slow. Lots of overhead. Came with only 1meg memory, 512 in each slot so I have to ditch both of them to upgrade to 2meg. Would probably be faster with XP instead of Vista."
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team03 November 2009
Dear customer,

Thank you for your feedback. We are continuously working to improve customer satisfaction. Your feedback supports us in doing just that.

If there are further technical issues that need our support please be kind and access the following link:

http://welcome.hp.com/country/us/en/wwcontact_us.html

Here you will also be able to find details on how to interact online with HP, contact us via email or telephone support, find HP addresses and access our “Self-help” section.
Review 4 for Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
littlebrowngirl
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Jack of all trades
Date:21 September 2009
"The battery life is nil, and after about a year, it is starting to overheat, but you can do a little bit of everything with this laptop. Some gaming, webcam, mic, surfing the net, running adobe programs. Great for students. Nothing extreme. Overall a good laptop for the price."
Review 5 for Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
chanz
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
its averge, but so is the price
Date:30 August 2009
"when you take into account the price you pay for the product its ok. I wouldn't say its fantastic but it is pretty fast considering the specs and the wireless adapters a bit better than some of the previous compaqs I have had. Someone commented on the battery life (just over 2 hrs) and yes it is a bit short but you can always get a bigger battery. Basically you get what you pay for and yes its a bit bulky and not got a lot of battery life but it is reliable and I can categorically state they survive being dropped on concrete (three times in 10 months now!) with no damage to the motherboard which is quite impressive I think. Shame it didn't come in pink though."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team10 September 2009

Dear customer,

Thank you for your feedback. We are continuously working to improve customer satisfaction. Your feedback supports us in doing just that.

If there are further technical issues that need our support please be kind and access the following link:

http://welcome.hp.com/gms/uk/en/contact_us.html

Here you will also be able to find details on how to interact online with HP, contact us via email or telephone support, find HP addresses and access our “Self-help” section.

Many thanks.

Review 6 for Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Csays
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Worst Computer Ever
Date:28 July 2009
"This computer is awful. The battery life is poor. Also, it over heats very fast. We've had 2 chargers for this laptop and both of them broke. The first charger came with the laptop and it broke. The second one we bought, just stopped working. The third one we have borrowed from a friend never stays in. All the chargers we've had never fit the laptop correctly. This laptop also gets very hot. If you want to shut down this computer, You have to wait about 10 minutes for it to actually shut down. If you close it while it's shutting down, it won't shut down. Also, I was asking my friend a question because this computer came with Vongo, and I didn't know what it was. My friend looked it up and apparantley its a virus and it's really hard to get rid of.
If you buy this laptop, You will be disappointed
"
10 out of 23 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team05 August 2009
Dear Customer,

We understand you have encountered some technical issues with the HP Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series.

In order to receive our full support on this matter, kindly note that there are three different ways to interact with us. You can choose to chat with an Hp support expert, submit a support case via e-mail or call technical support by accessing the following link:

http://welcome.hp.com/gms/uk/en/contact_us.html

Our technical experts will do their best to assist you regarding the issue encountered.

Many thanks
Review 7 for Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kev
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Great Laptop
Date:15 July 2009
"This laptop is great for students. I had no problem what so ever with this laptop. So far it doesn't over heat with my computer usage of about 4-8 hours. I was even able to play half life 2 and half life 2 ep1. It's not made for hardcore gaming but it can support a good number of computer games. The webcam is good and so is the mic. But the mic isn't really built to record load sounds like a guitar in front of it but it's good for web chatting/talking. I've been using this laptop for about a year now."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BobbieMae
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
decent, get what ya pay for
Date:13 July 2009
"I drive a Semi Truck, I bought this laptop about a year ago. Works fine with mapping program, open office, and surfing on internet, etc. would recommend another gig of Ram. laptop will get hot if not able to ventilate, ie have stuff near fan vents. Overall I would rate this laptop a 8.5 out 10. Sound out of Speakers is that not great, best with aux speakers or headset. mine has a mic built in screen, reception on mic about an 8ish out of 10. played with the voice commands in Vista. Laptop is a good laptop for a Student or Internet surfer. I am not a gamer so i can not rate on that. Came with alot of programs i do not use. most trials. uninstalled upon startin up for the 1st time."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
hotmamma
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
great for 12 months
Date:06 July 2009
"i had my laptop for just over 12 months the backlight on the screen died, the battery lasts for 11/2 hours and the touch pad has just died. Yes it was good now I am not a very happy person."
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team16 July 2009

Dear Customer,

We understand you have encountered some technical issues with the Compaq Presario C700 NotebookPC series.

In order to receive our full support on this matter, kindly note that there are three different ways to interact with us. You can choose to chat with an Hp support expert, submit a support case via e-mail or call technical support by accessing the following link:

http://welcome.hp.com/gms/uk/en/contact_us.html

Our technical experts will do their best to assist you regarding the issue encountered.

Many thanks.
Review 10 for Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cat
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
UGH.
Date:23 June 2009
"Since the first day, the touch pad hasn't worked right, some keys stick. The mic. is messed up and screeches. It over heats...and yes I keep it vented. The battery wire gets lose easily. Also, I just did a wipe on it because I had spyware... it won't let me download my Windows Live Messenger! It keeps saying something is preventing it. But there's nothing being installed besides it, and it even says in the beginning of the installation that there's no conflicting programs. I do not like this laptop AT ALL. Unfortunately, my warranty is up..so I'm stuck with this thing..."
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team02 July 2009
Dear Customer,

We understand you have encountered some technical issues with the Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series.

In order to receive our full support on this matter, kindly note that there are three different ways to interact with us. You can choose to chat with an Hp support expert, submit a support case via e-mail or call technical support by accessing the following link:

http://welcome.hp.com/gms/uk/en/contact_us.html

Our technical experts will do their best to assist you regarding the issue encountered.

Many thanks.
Review 11 for Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RHS
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Very Bad
Date:21 June 2009
"My C700 is only 7 months old and already is over heating and the keyboard does not work properly,
I do not recommend to buy this product, does not matter how cheap looks!"
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team14 July 2009
Dear Customer,

We understand you have encountered some technical issues with the Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series.

In order to receive our full support on this matter, kindly note that there are three different ways to interact with us. You can choose to chat with an Hp support expert, submit a support case via e-mail or call technical support by accessing the following link:

http://welcome.hp.com/gms/uk/en/contact_us.html

Our technical experts will do their best to assist you regarding the issue encountered.

Many thanks.
Review 12 for Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lainie
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
No no no
Date:27 May 2009
"This is a horrible product! It over heat's constantly shutting the computer off. The battery dies too fast so it's not good for on the go. Vista is very buggy and Ive encountered many problems with this product."
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team09 June 2009
Dear Customer,

We understand you have encountered some technical issues with Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series.
In order to receive our full support on this matter, kindly note that there are three different ways to interact with us. You can choose to chat with an Hp support expert, submit a support case via e-mail or call technical support by accessing the following link:

http://welcome.hp.com/gms/uk/en/contact_us.html

Our technical experts will do their best to assist you regarding the issue encountered.

Many thanks.
Review 13 for Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jp
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Great Laptop
Date:26 April 2009
"this laptop has been great for school. it has a good screen and graphics card, i can even play call of duty on it with no problem. it is so thin and light, it weighs about 4 pounds. the only downside i have with this laptop is the battery life, it lasts about 2 hours with the screen all the way down and the power plan is on balanced. if you put it on power saver it lasts about 2 1/2 hours which is not bad. if you get the 12 cell battery it will add about 1-2 pounds and the bettery sticks out."
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lauzie
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Beginner
Good purchase
Date:07 April 2009
"This was a good purchase but am finding that after about 2 hours of being switched on just turns its self off? i think its over heating im not to sure. could anyone give me advie please ."
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team04 May 2009
Dear Customer,

We understand you have encountered a technical issue with the Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series.

Please be kind visit the link below for our available support options:

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Home.jsp?locale=en_US

Here you will also be able to find details on how to interact online with HP, contact us via email or telephone support, find HP addresses and access our “Self-help” section.

Many thanks.
Review 15 for Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
escudo
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
the nice one
Date:21 February 2009
"When i bought this product my immediate specs are 1) dualcore CPU T2370 1.73ghz 2) 3 GB yep!!!of RAM 3) 230 GB of HARDDRIVE....Oh that's a nice one. And up to now its great in everthing games,music,movies, programing and office works. The minor gap i think is the battery life that lasted only 2 or 11/2 hour. But overall it is a nice buy for everyone combining price, performance,and play..."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kei
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Best Laptop I've Ever Owned!!!
Date:13 January 2009
"This laptop does everything I need it to do because of the hard drive space - I use it for my online sales and at work. This laptop hasn't given me any problems and the battery life is excellent! I love to take it to work because it's lightweight and slim and has the Kensington key slot installed on it so no one walks away with it. You won't be disappointed with this laptop - I have people coming up to me asking where to purchase one at or to buy mine (which is not going to happen, lol)!"
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sadia
Gender:Female
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
i love it!
Date:10 January 2009
"my first ever laptop. works well even though i use it for almost 12-13 hours a day.
touch pad can freeze up at times. and i feel the battery gets used up too quickly. i have to keep mine plugged in most of the time!!"
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Finy
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Average computer
Date:03 December 2008
"I have recently purchased the C700 version. I found it very slow and crashing several times, may be it could perform well with Windows XP! or if upgrading memory from 1GB to 3GB? Mouse pad is very dificult to use and slips often. Sound is an issue - my doughter keeps complaining. Otherwise i like the wide screen and colour system."
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team19 December 2008
Dear Customer,
We understand you have encountered some technical issues with the Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series. To receive support on this matter, please be kind submit your enquiry using the Feedback to Webmaster form from the following link: http://h41111.www4.hp.com/contacthp/webmaster/uk/en/feedback.php?refurl=
In order to ensure you receive a satisfactory answer to your query, we would like to kindly ask you for more information. Please specify the exact model of your Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC (ex. C791EM, C792EA, C795EM), the operating system, the exact error messages received (if there are any) and other information you consider to be relevant.
Our experts will be glad to assist you regarding the issue encountered.
Many thanks.
Review 19 for Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bula
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
C700
Date:10 November 2008
"A good all-rounder offering excellent value. the only two negatives are -
1. Speaker volume is inadequate - external speakers are needed to appreciate the quality of the sound system on-board (yes, it's good!)
2. Youcam software is now dated and does not compare well with free software bundled with low end logitech cams - if they can do it, why can't compaq/hp?
Other than those two niggles, I would be very happy to be a return customer and introduce friends to the range."
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Compaq Presario C700 Notebook PC series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Helios
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Amazing value for money!
Date:07 October 2008
"I bought a C797ee laptop (2Ghz, 3GB ram, 200GB HDD) a month ago and i am extremely satisfied with its performance. it is pretty fast, has decent looks and is very user friendly. the only drawback is that it lacks a graphics card, which is a disadvantage for gaming freaks. but if you are a student like me, i guess this is a good budget laptop for you. people might say that compaq notebooks aren't good, but having used one for a month now, i feel it's not true. if you are looking for a cheap notebook with good features, then this is a great buy.Amazing laptop with good specs for a very decent price."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.