Product Reviews

HP Officejet Pro K8600 Printer series

Average Customer Rating:
2.932 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
16
20 out of 44(45%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Officejet Pro K8600 Printer series
Review 1 for HP Officejet Pro K8600 Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MattE
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
HP Officejet Pro K8600 Printer
Date:03 April 2012
"Bought this for 25 PC network and to see if Officejet technology can be used for business. Simple answer is no it cant.
Runs out of ink too fast. With large blocks of colour the paper is wet and wrinkles and it can not cope with being networked and has to be switched on/off every 15 mins. Disaster for business might manage some light Monday night infant's homework"
Review 2 for HP Officejet Pro K8600 Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Alien999
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Disappointed
Date:27 March 2012
"When the printer works it is really excellent quality, but it is unreliable and we waste an extraordinary amount of time clearing the print queue and starting again. It has taken 3 attempts(within a 3 week period) to get a printer that works at all, so lots of wasted time waiting for replacements to start with. Seems to struggle with printing several pages and just stops mid-flow. Technical support answer seems to be to switch off and on, oh that didn't work we'll replace it, but that took almost 2 hours on the phone.
We do not believe that the printer does what is says in the brochures. we are seriously thinking of dumping the unit and buying another printer
"
Review 3 for HP Officejet Pro K8600 Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
disatisfied
Gender:Male
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
unreliable
Date:24 January 2012
"This product seems to be designed to use up as much ink as possible; the cartridges are angled so that they don't empty. Also, it frequently takes more then one sheet of paper and will often print over several sheets of paper, or jam! The "care pack" fails to inform those who are stupid enough to buy it, that any replacement printer will be SECOND HAND. HP call it refurbished! Oh and by the way, expect to spend at least an hour on the phone, as you will be redirected at least once AT YOUR EXPENSE."
Review 4 for HP Officejet Pro K8600 Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Not really office suitable
Date:19 January 2012
"The first unit had to go back after 2 weeks because it kept pulling in about ten sheets at a time & jamming. The replacement doesn't do this, but does quite often stop halfway through printing a page & waits for another print job to be sent before finishing the previous.
Not recommended for an office environment where you want print jobs to work every time.
"
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Officejet Pro K8600 Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
deanworldontario
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
dependable
Date:24 October 2010
"This printer is dependable and accurate. Colour is good and jamming is a non-problem. The print options make it economical. A good investment."
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Officejet Pro K8600 Printer series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
bnc
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Couldn't use manual sheet feeder
Date:07 September 2010
"I had this printer for 3 frustrating days trying to get it to work, but I ended up having to return it.
I bought this for large format printing, so I was excited to experiment with various large paper sizes, such as 12x18. Since 12x18 was not a supported size in the paper tray, this required me to use the manual sheet feeder, which wouldn't have been an issue, except that I kept getting a duplexer error. Even though the duplexer was not installed, I kept getting error messages saying that it was installed and that I should uninstall it. (Hard to uninstall something that is not there.) I tried uninstalling and reinstalling the drivers (Win7 64-bit) several times, but it still thought the duplexer was installed. Anyway, this thing is too expensive to be just an 8.5x11 printer, so back it went to the store. Very disappointed.
"
Review 7 for HP Officejet Pro K8600 Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tosh
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Excellent small bis printer
Date:05 April 2010
"As an interior design business, we need to print drawings, photographs/scanned images in colour, A3 as well as A4 format, and frequently double-sided too. This machine is fills the brief and is fast. Cost of cartridges is a bit of an 'ouch' but they do last a long time .. Highly recommendable machine, and very easy to install and use too."
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Officejet Pro K8600 Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frustrated
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Poor
Date:21 October 2009
"Purchasing this printer is not recommended A3 and A4 paper consistantly misfeeds, I can only assume the memory is insufficient since as I write this it will not compute an appointment document I want to print. The price may be low but it is low for a reason!"
8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team03 November 2009
Dear customer,

Thank you for your feedback. We are continuously working to improve customer satisfaction. Your feedback supports us in doing just that.

If there are further technical issues that need our support please be kind and access the following link:

http://welcome.hp.com/country/us/en/wwcontact_us.html

Here you will also be able to find details on how to interact online with HP, contact us via email or telephone support, find HP addresses and access our “Self-help” section.
Review 9 for HP Officejet Pro K8600 Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fawlty
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Excellant Upgrade
Date:06 March 2009
"As Secretary of a Male Voice Choir we purchased this printer and are now printing a lot more of our own Programmes. Posters and Flyers ect .this printer is fast,.economical and the print quality is first class I would recomend to anyone"
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HP Officejet Pro K8600 Printer series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Steve H
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
K8600dn
Date:09 February 2009
"I was shocked how quickly it sucked ink after my P2000 failed. I thought the larger ink capacity would equal long life. I was shocked and wrong. In addition the print heads failed and my dealer did not have replacement heads. To the positive HP did replace the entire unit. I am also frustrated that the heads do not return to a point where they can be changed when the lid is opened. I understand there is a way to get them to where they need to be but it should be easier. For the money I am not happy, I felt HP should have provided a more consumer friendly unit. Now I do not even see these printers at my supplier. They have been pulled from the shelf. I guess I should be happy that the one I now have seems to work, even though is it ink hungry."
18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team06 March 2009
Dear Customer,

We understand you have encountered some technical issues with the HP Officejet Pro K8600 Printer series.

In order to receive our full support on this matter, kindly note that there are three different ways to interact with us. You can choose to chat with an Hp support expert, submit a support case via e-mail or call technical support by accessing the following link: http://welcome.hp.com/gms/uk/en/contact_us.html

Our technical experts will do their best to assist you regarding the issue encountered.

Many thanks.
Review 11 for HP Officejet Pro K8600 Printer series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stravaig
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Maximum print length
Date:14 August 2008
"This is an excellent printer, with one important proviso.
Currently (August 14 2008) the English and globally localised variants of HP Datasheet 4AA1-7140EEE.PDF for this machine shows a maximum custom print capability of 330 x 2540mm. However, the supplied printer driver only permits a maximum of 330 x 482mm. Please note that the displayed maximum print length of 2540mm on the datasheet is incorrect."
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HP Officejet Pro K8600 Printer series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nash
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
good one
Date:11 June 2008
"It is a good, efficient printer. would recommend it."
6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Officejet Pro K8600 Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
woostersman
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
great value
Date:23 May 2008
"The K8600dn is a great printer at an extraordinary price. I bought it mainly for its duplexing ability in A3 and A4.
To be honest, I was surprised to get such good and efficient functionality in a printer that costs relatively little"
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Officejet Pro K8600 Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dlzinder
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Very Versatile
Date:04 April 2008
"I have been looking for an affordable printer to print large sized documents for a long time. For the price and size of this printer it cannot be topped. The quality it provides on very detailed engineering documents is excellent. It also provides the documents at a very good speed. I would highly recommend this product."
43 out of 44 people found this review helpful.