Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at HP.

HP Deskjet F4200 All-in-One Printer series

Get quick and easy printing, scanning and copying with this versatile all-in-one. Print and copy everyday paperwork, web pages and more at up to 26 ppm black, 20 ppm colour – get great photos too with HP Vivera inks. Energy Star qualified.
Average Customer Rating:
3.405 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
10
20 out of 37(54%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Deskjet F4200 All-in-One Printer series
Review 1 for HP Deskjet F4200 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
E-man
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
A little disappointed w/ HP F4200
Date:04 June 2009
"I bought this about six months ago. For an all-in-one printer (minus the fax) it did its job well enough when it did. I don't print often and when I do, it's mostly documents in black. Basic stuff for me, like printing out my monthly bank and credit card statements.
About three months into owning the F4200, I wanted to print out a web page which had some color fonts. This was the first time after the print test when you first installed the printer, that I had used the color ink function. Went well enough. The second time wasn't the case. It kept jamming afterwards even when I just want to print in black. Ended up just pulling out the color ink just so I can print my monthly statements.
And yes, I agree with some reviewers here that the printer tends to use up ink at an above average rate. Not good."
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team12 June 2009
Dear customer,

Thank you for your feedback. We are continuously working to improve customer satisfaction. Your feedback supports us in doing just that.

If there are further technical issues that need our support please be kind and access the following link:

http://welcome.hp.com/gms/uk/en/contact_us.html

Here you will also be able to find details on how to interact online with HP, contact us via email or telephone support, find HP addresses and access our “Self-help” section.

Many thanks.
Review 2 for HP Deskjet F4200 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unhappy
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Not worth it
Date:24 April 2009
"I thought the printer was great when i got it until i printed out a few pictures,the quality of the pictures isn't the best and it EATS the ink. Ive used the printer no more than five times and the last time after printing 3 photos it decided it didn't want to print anymore. Kept saying its out of paper or paper jam and there was plenty if paper and no jam. The price of the ink is ridiculous you could buy a new printer every time for the price of a black + colour cartridge."
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team05 May 2009
Dear Customer,

We understand you have encountered some technical issues with the HP Deskjet F4200 All-in-One Printer series.

In order to receive our full support on this matter, kindly note that there are three different ways to interact with us. You can choose to chat with an Hp support expert, submit a support case via e-mail or call technical support by accessing the following link:

http://welcome.hp.com/gms/uk/en/contact_us.html

Our technical experts will do their best to assist you regarding the issue encountered.

Many thanks.
Review 3 for HP Deskjet F4200 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LuckyDuck
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
what Unit will do
Date:03 February 2009
"I have just purchased my F4200 series unit and find the function of what I have done so far to be very good. However, I clicked NO to would I recommend..........for the reason that I have been unable to find an answer to my qustion: "Will this unit print envelopes." I cannot find any mention of printing envelopes, or labels in the instruction booklets that came with the unit, neither do any of the links I read offer information about printing of envelopes or labels. WHY?"
12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Deskjet F4200 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Apollo 13
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
A bit thirsty
Date:06 May 2009
"This product was recommended by a friend who works for HP and has one on his desk, so, because of this i went out and bought one. Real easy to set up, print quality is good on all settings, not had any problems. However, it is VERY VERY thirsty on the ink. It seems to go through huge amounts of ink, and, as we all now HP ink cartirdges are not exactly cheap. Would i recommend to a friend...probably but i would also recommened using compatable ink cartridges."
26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Deskjet F4200 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Annoyed......
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Not worth the $
Date:04 October 2009
"I haven't even had this printer a year yet, and already, the paper tray broke. On top of that, it's having all of a sudden started to have issues with recognizing print jobs. I uninstalled and reinstalled the software, and it is still not working properly. Here's a piece of advice for anyone considering buying this printer..... DON'T!"
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team30 October 2009
Dear Customer,

We understand you have encountered some technical issues with HP Deskjet F4200 All-in-One Printer series.

In order to receive our full support on this matter, kindly note that there are three different ways to interact with us.

You can choose to chat with an Hp support expert, submit a support case via e-mail or call technical support by accessing the following link:

http://welcome.hp.com/country/us/en/wwcontact_us.html

Our technical experts will do their best to assist you regarding the issue encountered.
Review 6 for HP Deskjet F4200 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unicorn
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Very good purchase
Date:13 February 2009
"No problems so far, excellent for ease of use and colour printing of detailed pictures. Quality of print and scanning/copying is excellent. Although I do not use it continuously, I have rated it slightly down due to the ink cartridges having to be replaced fairly frequently. These are not easily accessible or cheap in Greece!"
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Deskjet F4200 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
printless
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
ocasional use
Date:14 August 2010
"As with every other inkjet printer I have tried, this one is no good for ocasional use. The jets dry up if the printer is not used frequently and once that has happened, even if you go through the cleaning process, the print quality is thereafter useless. I am told the only solution is to buy a laser printer."
Review 8 for HP Deskjet F4200 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Scanner FAIL
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Will not scan at all
Date:29 December 2009
"The printer is ok, but the scanner is not detected on my computer. The copier works, so it's not the scanner the problem... I restarted it (the computer too) and reinstalled the software, IT WON'T WORK! Frustrated because it's the first time I actually need it bad and, like I said before, IT WON'T WORK!"
Review 9 for HP Deskjet F4200 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
F4200
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
No USB Cable???
Date:03 September 2009
"No USB cable included? Really? I just set the printer up and intended to print off a document due tomorrow. However, I pulled it out of the box and realized that no USB cable was included. I am bringing this large paperweight back to the store tomorrow and buying something that is ready to use."
13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team10 September 2009

Dear Customer,

Thank you for contacting HP Customer Care.

I gather from your mail that you did not receive the USB cable with the printer.

The USB cable is not included in the box of your HP Deskjet F4200 series All-in-One Printer.

Please visit the link provided below to check the items shipped in the box.

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01431098&cc=uk&lc=en&dlc=en&product=3390949

NOTE: Clicking the link may give an error indicating it is invalid. If this occurs, copy the portion of the address on the second line and paste it at the end of the address showing in your browser.

If you need further assistance, please reply to this message and we will be happy to assist you further.

For information on keeping your HP and Compaq products up and running, please visit our website at:

http://www.hp.co.uk/diagnostics
Review 10 for HP Deskjet F4200 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JT
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Will not scan .PDF
Date:17 July 2009
"The printer information and looking online says that it will scan to a .PDF format, but whenever you go into the scan menu you are not even given this option."
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team31 July 2009
Dear Customer,

Thank you for contacting HP Customer Care.

I gather from your mail that you are unable to save the scanned document in the .pdf format from your HP DeskJet F4280 All-in-One Printer.

I realize the importance of the issue and will make sure that I give you appropriate information.

I would like to inform you that we need the HP solution center software installed and the pdf reader such as Adobe installed on your computer.

This issue may have occurred if the OCR (Optical Character Recognition) Software is not installed along with the HP Solution Center software.

Please perform the steps mentioned below to check for the installation of the OCR Software.

• Insert the Software CD that was shipped along with the printer in the CD ROM drive.
• Select the option to “Install more software”.
• Check if you receive an option to install more software.
• Select and install the OCR software.
• Complete the installation process.
• Try to scan a document and see if you receive an option to save in .pdf format.

In case you have the OCR software installed, please let me know the version of the PDF software that you are using.

• Open the Adobe reader, click on help.
• Click on about reader. Make a note of the version of the software.

I would also request you to get back to us with the following details.

• How is the printer connected to the computer?
• What is the operating system installed? Eg Windows xp

If you need further assistance, please reply to this message with the result of the steps that you have performed and requested information and we will be happy to assist you.