Product Reviews

HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series

Average Customer Rating:
3.968 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
4
46 out of 62(74%)customers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series
Review 1 for HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jumper
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
1st purchase and no complaints
Date:14 August 2010
"I had hoped for better results in obtaining prints from old B&W negatives of various sizes. I am having difficulty and have thousands of old negs from my childhood travelling the world with my parents.. Any Help
Otherwise all other aspects from simple printing to photography and copying are all perfect. Wish it used less ink!!!!!
"
Review 2 for HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Follyveiw
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
BAD SOFTWARE FOR THE IMAC
Date:11 March 2010
"Apart from basic printing, the software does not seem to work on the imac.
After months of trying to scan in text i'm giving up with HP.
"
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team25 March 2010
Dear Customer,

We understand you have encountered some technical issues with HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series.

In order to receive our full support on this matter, kindly note that there are three different ways to interact with us.

You can choose to chat with an Hp support expert, submit a support case via e-mail or call technical support by accessing the following link:

http://welcome.hp.com/country/us/en/wwcontact_us.html

Our technical experts will do their best to assist you regarding the issue encountered.
Review 3 for HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lehmann
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Perfect
Date:04 February 2010
"Perfect All-in-One....The best printer you can buy....never had eny problems with it and HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One is so easy to use. If you need a good printer buy this one today."
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
decoded
Gender:Male
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
amazing all in one
Date:14 January 2010
"what more could you ask for ? this is the most wonderful picture quality and a 96 bit scanner with film and negative scanning with the lightscribe drive honestly what more could you ask for it disapoints me i can find another one just like it even know mine still works fine i don't see another all in one with all of these options to replace it"
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
skip
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Scanner and Bluetooth
Date:27 December 2009
"Can't get the scanner to work. Furthermore, the printer is recognised by my mobile but then says that it is not compatible. Both phone and printer are new so how come this is so?"
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Canada1
Gender:Female
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
HP is still the best
Date:31 October 2009
"Replaced a 5 year old HP with the C8180.
Super easy install.
The functions are easy to learn.
Beautiful color photos!!! Envelopes of all sizes a breeze. Regular printing crisp and clear.
This printer should be on anyones list who is looking for a new all in one!
"
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jimbo
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
c8100
Date:26 October 2009
"I have to say this is my third hp printer and i am very pleased with it ,,far better than the others i have had ..and really pleased with the scanning of negatives..only wish you had included other sizes (ie 110/127/120 and 620)is there any chance that you may bring in a mod so that all negs could be scanned..even so I rate this printer at
4 stars
"
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fishdude
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Beginner
best purchase ever
Date:06 October 2009
"Love it!, Its worked flawlessly for 2 yrs now. Wireless was easy to set up, bluetooth works for down loading from my phone. Scanner for me works perfect everytime using microsoft office scanner software."
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DGS
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Scanner is Worthless
Date:29 September 2009
"The printer seems okay. The scanner is essentially useless, as I can never tell when it's actually going to decide to work. I'll scan several images with no problem, and then the scanner will just stop working for no discernible reason. Frequently, it won't resume working even with several complete reboots of both the unit and my computer. Highly frustrating and tremendously disappointing. If you want a functional scanner, stay far, far away from this piece of garbage."
12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team09 October 2009
Dear Customer,

We understand you have encountered some technical issues with HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series.

In order to receive our full support on this matter, kindly note that there are three different ways to interact with us. You can choose to chat with an Hp support expert, submit a support case via e-mail or call technical support by accessing the following link:

http://welcome.hp.com/country/us/en/wwcontact_us.html

Our technical experts will do their best to assist you regarding the issue encountered.
Review 10 for HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
roadrunner
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
excellent printer
Date:16 September 2009
"did a lot of research before buying this printer/scanner.it was extremely easy to set up wirelessly and on comparing with my old printer the colours are far superior.for anyone who wants a printer for printing colour photos I would recomend it anyone!"
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
mango
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Advanced
simple, somewhat ineffective
Date:09 September 2009
"The simplicity of the set up is very advanced for HP, I was impressed with that. What I wasn't impressed with, is the inability for the printer to print directly on envelopes. I would recommend staying clear of the C8100 model if envelopes are in your future. For that reason, I give this model 2 stars."
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team17 September 2009
Dear Customer,

Thank you for contacting HP Customer Care.

I gather from your mail that you are dissatisfied that you are unable to print directly on envelopes.

I realize the importance of the issue and will make sure that I give you appropriate information.

I want to inform you that you can directly print on envelopes. I request you to check the product specification in the web link below:

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01130913&cc=uk&lc=en&dlc=en&product=3204788

NOTE: Clicking the link may give an error indicating it is invalid. If this occurs, copy the URL starting from "http" till "3204788", paste them in the address bar of the web browser, then press Enter Key.
However, in order to provide you appropriate steps in changing the settings to print on envelopes, please get back to us with the operating system that you are running.

For information on keeping your HP and Compaq products up and running, please visit our website at:

http://www.hp.co.uk/diagnostics

Review 12 for HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DB from UK
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Envelopes anyone? Duplexer?
Date:08 May 2009
"I bought this machine for it's speed and colour work. As a home office user though, a big part of it's life will be printing leaflets and envelopes.
It installed well (on usb) and I printed off the demo photo. Quite superb.
The next day I had to print 160 C5 envelopes. These are perfectly usual envelopes that take several sheets of A4 folded once.
The C8180 doesn't print that size envelope!
I got over the problem, (eventually,) by using Word set for A5 paper as a page size config and then a landscape layout.
Using this, I ran the merge in Word but as for letters, not envelopes! It worked.
Then the problem was feeding the envelopes as the tray for envelopes only holds ten at most. It takes time to load as well.
I don't like labels as I like to put a return address on the envelopes, so I will cotinue to use this method.
Next I was to print a Newsletter of 5 A4 sheets printed both sides. Now why on earth can't we buy the duplexer that is mentioned for this machine - it's something I thought might come with it. I don't mind buying it, but where from in the UK?
A superb machine though
"
25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vasi
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Great MFP
Date:12 December 2008
"Great product, excellent performance, I am very happy I bought it."
13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ytft
Gender:Male
Age:40-54
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
huge disappointment
Date:25 October 2008
"After having an officejet which had printed thousands of copies over the years I was only prepared to consider HP as a replacement when I eventually decided to upgrade. I spent a whole afternoon trying to install this machine to use a USB connection with no success whatsoever. I can only conclude that this particular machine has a faulty USB connector - but I will be taking it back to the seller tomorrow...so it might have brilliant colours/speed/simplicity or whatever, but if it doesnt work or install, then it isn't much good"
10 out of 34 people found this review helpful.
Response from HP:By EMEA Inbound Email Support Team19 November 2008
Dear Customer,
We understand you have encountered some technical issues with the HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series. In order to address your issue to the technical support team, please be kind and visit the following link:
http://welcome.hp.com/gms/uk/en/contact_us.html . From here you will be able to choose the most suitable way for you to get in contact with our technical experts.
Many thanks.
Review 15 for HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mark Sutcliffe
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
C8180
Date:15 October 2008
"I have recently purchased one of these printers to replace an old one at home (like you do), I found it a breeze to setup. The printer produces excellent quality pictures with borderless printing from its 6 separate Vivera ink cartridges, a must for good quality photos.
I can scan images & send them direct to my PC & photocopy documents with ease too.
An excellent all in one & great value for money!
I disagree with he comment about wireless dropping out, I haven’t had any trouble with mine the router & printer are located on different floors..."
20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
preeti
Gender:Female
Age:Under 25
Computer proficiency:Advanced
GREAT ALL IN 1!!!
Date:21 June 2008
"i have been looking to buy a printer, but not just any printer, a printer that does all features (scanner, copier, printer, wireless, photo printer etc etc). having searched the net for good reviews on HP (i wanted a HP all in one as i have a HP laptop) i found that the c8100 series was exactly what i was looking for plus more!!Its incredibly quiet for a printer that has so many different functions. And it intereacts with my laptop so for instance if i have any problems -i use the touch screen lcd on the printer which sends the help topics/troubleshooting onto my laptop screen! Definately recommended!!! oh and the print quaity is WOW!"
58 out of 63 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tutu228
Gender:Female
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Intermediate
Absolute Gem
Date:21 May 2008
"Just bought the C8100 and i am amazed how easy its made copying and printing. I had some really old photo slides from when my parents were alive and have been able to scan, digitally enhance and print with little effort. Just to have been able to do that has been worth buying it! Thoroughly recommended."
28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kobit
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
Excellent printer
Date:13 May 2008
"I bought it for it's wireless connectivity and lightscribe to print labels on CDs/DVDs. About printer quality and photo printing I wasn't worried too much as from my experience HP printers are top products anyway.
Let me list my impressions:
1. I use Macbook Pro and Leopard Mac OS X - no problems with printing what so ever
2. Wireless - no problem I use WPA encryption
3. Photo quality - perfect and my impression for ink usage is that it is very low, much lower than expected. Printed quite a lot photos in the best quality and I can't see that the ink was used at all
4. Normal paper printing - fast and really sharp, especially black
And, NO I am not HP employee ;-)
One complain until now - I can not figure out how to activate lightscribe from the computer and create custom labels. The only way I can use it is through the built-in screen and create a simple text labels... Still looking for a way to print nicer labels on CD/DVD...."
42 out of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
steve
Gender:Male
Age:55+
Computer proficiency:Advanced
nice printer but wireless hopeless
Date:11 March 2008
"I like the printer but the wireless connection is very unstable. Used with two Pcs running XP and most times we have to reboot to get the printer to work - really tiresome. Hence low stars"
26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HP Photosmart C8100 All-in-One Printer series
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Aibo82
Gender:Male
Age:25-39
Computer proficiency:Advanced
I would of gave it 5 but...
Date:11 February 2008
"And why I only gave it 4? basically because of the scanning issue in vista when using a wacom tablet. It toke me hour to figure this out and only managed a fix for this after trailing hours through forums!! seem that there a conflict between hp scan and vista tablet input service so the only way to scan for now is to stop that service its hightly anoying!"
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.